TG4 All Ireland Semi-Final Reports

TG4 All Ireland Semi-Final Reports

Smash & Grab From Cork
Cork 0-13 Mayo 1-09



produced a late rally to book a place in their first ever
TG4 All Ireland decider in the opening clash at O’Moore
Park. Mayo looked certain to getting ready for their sixth
decider in seven years as they led by three points as we
entered the final three minutes. Cork had other ideas and
with the inspirational Valerie Mulcahy coming off the bench
to hit two late points and a winner from Juliette Murphy
they took the victory.

The girls from the west were much the better side in the
early stages and more purposeful with possession. A goal
from Cora Staunton on eighteen minutes seen them race into
a 1-04 to 0-01 lead. But credit to Cork they began to claw
that lead back and by the interval the sides were only separated
by that goal at 1-05 to 0-05.

reduced the deficit to two early after the resumption but
at the other end Mayo always looked like hitting the important
scores to stay out in front. They were still firmly in control
as we entered the final three minutes but disaster struck
with Ciara McDermott getting sin binned within a minute
of coming off the bench. Mulcahy who was forced out of the
starting lineout through injury tapped over the free. Mayo
were then reduced to thirteen with Marcella Heffernan seeing
yellow in harsh circumstances and from there Cork laid siege
on the Mayo goal. Mulcahy added a further converted free
before Caoimhe Creedon punished a poor Mayo kick out to
level matters. Then with just twenty five seconds remaining
on the clock Juliette Murphy pounced to give Cork a slender
one point victory. There was some consolation for Mayo with
midfielder Claire Egan receiving the TG4 player of the match

Elaine Harte, Brid Stack, Angela Walsh, Rena Buckley, Briege
Corkery, Ciara Walsh, Sinead O’Reilly (0-01), Juliette Murphy
(0-03), Norita Kelly, Amanda Murphy (0-02), Regina Curtin,
Geraldine O’Flynn (0-01,f), Deirdre O’Reilly, Caoimhe Creedon
(0-02), Nollaig Cleary Subs: Mary O’Connor (0-01) for G
O’Flynn (HT), Valerie Mulcahy (0-03,f) for R Curtin (43min),
Aisling O’Connor for D O’Reilly (54min) Mayo: Linda Connolly,
Nuala O’Shea, Helena Lohan, Sharon McGing, Hazel Jordan,
Claire O’Hara, Mary T Garvey, Claire Egan, Sarah Tyrell
(0-01), Marcella Heffernan (0-01), Christina Heffernan (0-01),
Kelly Colleran (0-01), Martha carter, Emma Mullen (0-02),
Cora Staunton (1-03), 2f)

Fiona McHale for K Colleran (50min), Ciara McDermott for
S Tyrell (56min), Diane O’Hora for E Mullen (59min)

Gunn (PR Committee)

Remain On To retain Title Galway 2-10 Dublin 0-07
Fahy inspired Galway to a comfortable victory and a safe
passage into their second successive TG4 All Ireland Senior
Final and remain on course of retaining the title. Dublin
came to Portlaoise hoping to reverse last years final defeat
but in the end they were no more than spectators as the
reigning champions played them off the park. The girls from
the capital had started the brighter with points from Lyndsay
Davey and Sinead Ahearn but once Niamh Fahy struck for the
opening goal on nine minutes Galway never looked back. By
the midway point the eventual winners had stretched the
lead to 1-05 to 0-03 with Niamh Duggan helping herself to
four points (all free’s) in that opening period.

Their dominance continued after the restart with Geraldine
Connelly and Lorna Joyce firing over fine points inside
five minutes. The game was all but wrapped up with thirteen
minutes of the second half played as Lorna Joyce played
in player of the match Fahy to fire in her second major.
Dublin introduced the experience of Angie McNally to try
and turn things around but the changes were much to late
and Galway were already thinking of a trip to Croke Park
on October 2nd. The only down point on another good afternoon
for the Galway girls was the injury to Lisa Coohill late
on in the game.

It now sets up a repeat meeting of the Suzuki NFL league
final earlier in the year. The countdown has started so
now is the time to get yourself ready and travel to Croke
Park for the TG4 All Ireland Junior & Senior Finals. Galway:
Una Carroll, Ruth Stephens, Michelle Glynn, Claire Molloy,
Marie O’Connell, Aoibheann Daly, Emer Flaherty, Annette
Clarke (0-01), Edel Concannon, Geraldine Conneely (0-02),
Niamh Duggan (0-05,f), Philomena NiFlatharta, Rebecca McPhilbin,
Niamh Fahy (2-00), Lorna Joyce (0-02)

Anne Marie McDonough for C Molloy (18min), Lisa Coohill
for P NiFlaharta (HT), Patricia Gleeson for L Coohill (48min),
Catriona Cormican for G Conneely (54min), Helen McHugh for
N Fahy (58min) Dublin: Cliodhna O’Connor, Louise Kidd, Avril
Cluxton, Louise Keegan, Joanne O’Sullivan, Denise Masterson,
Gemma Fay, Niamh McEvoy, Martina Farrell, Karen Hopkins,
Bernie Finlay, Lyndsay Davey (0-02), Sinead Ahearn (0-04,3f),
Rachel Barrett, Louise Kelly Subs: Amy McGuinness for D
Masterson (36min), Niamh Hurley for G Fay (44min), Angie
McNally (0-01) for K Hopkins (45min), Mary Nevin for N McEvoy
(48min), Noelle Comyn for M Farrell (53min) Alan Gunn (PR

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs