2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

The long wait is over as Cork take Munster Senior Title



long wait is over as Cork take TG4 Munster

Cork 4-13 Kerry 1-9 by Fr. Liam Kelleher

Salute the heroines of 2004 these are the
girls that finally did it for Cork, incredibly
their first Munster senior title since the
formation of Cumann Peil na Mban going back
all of 30 years. In fact the closest Cork
came to victory was 2 years ago when they
fell to the Deise girls by 4 points. Thirty
years is a long time waiting and when it comes
it gives great joy . They say the first one
is the most difficult and indeed Cork did
it the hard way losing to Kerry in the first
round by 6 points then defeating Clare and
Waterford, but a team that believed in themselves
took the field at Pairc Ui Rinn on Sunday
and they swept Kerry away in a red tidal wave,
particularly in the 2nd half.

Murphy – Click on image to enlarge
after defeating Cork in the league and in
the first round of the championship went into
this TG4 final game as clear favorites and
like last when they upset the applecart and
defeated hot favorites they were at the receiving
end of Corks hunger. Cork can go on from here
and achieve great things and after Sundays
awesome display it is not beyond the bounds
of possibility that they can go all the way
this year. The draw pitted them against Mayo
in the quarter final and Mayo have won 4 of
the last 5 titles at national level.
Murphy Capt receives Cup from Michael Ryan
– Click to enlarge
have also a score to settle with them having
lost to them in the league and in the league
final itself. But this Cork team have come
on leaps and bounds since the beginning of
the year. They have been growing in stature
and the victory over 10 times champions Waterford
in the Semi final gave them the confidence
to go on. Forced to start without Catriona
Foley injured playing for Cork in Camogie
on Saturday, the selectors dilemma was solved
, Aisling O’Connor who scored 2 late points
against Waterford was retained and Amada Murphy
reverted gain to defense. Regina Curtin picked
at full forward was given a roving role and
played it to perfection while Geraldine O’Flynn
moved back to the halfline and it was the
trump card Cork used to good effect when they
had Kerry in all sorts of trouble when they
were going forward.

Cork Senior team – Click on picture to enlarge

Cork carried the game to Kerry form the outset
an had their opening 2 points from frees form
Geraldine O’Flynn Kerry fought back and when
points from Sarah O’Connor and Geraldine O’Shea
and a peach of a goal from Kacy O’Driscoll
gave Kerry the initiative. And they led on
a scoreline of 1-3 to 0-2 after 15 minutes.
Then in a purple patch before the break Cork
roared into life and points by Valerie Mulcahy
and Nollaig Cleary in the 18th and 19th minutes
were followed by a cracking goal by Mary O’Connor
in the 20th minute Kerry responded with a
point from Geraldine O’Shea, Geraldine Flynn
leveled matters up again on the 29th minute
and just as the clock was running down the
last seconds of an exciting opening half Cork
struck for the all important goal with Aishling
O’Connor at the end of sweeping move to finish
to the net. Cork went to the haven of the
dressing room on a high.

Despite an early Sarah O’Connor point, Cork
noted for their 2nd half performances roared
back into life Valerie Mulcahy set the ball
rolling with a point, points followed from
Mary and Aisling O’Connor. The Geraldine O’Flynn
later named played of the match scored a spectacular
point from all of 45 meters on the run and
Cork never looked back. The decisive goal
game on the 2oth minute from Valerie Mulcahy
and it was exhibition stuff after that. Geraldine
rounded off a historic day with a brilliant
goal and Cork were home and dry.

There were scenes of jubilation as excellent
referee Derek Byrne from Limerick blew the
final whistle. All Cork players played their
part. Elaine Harte was solid in goals the
full line of Brid Stack, Niamh Keohane and
Laura Power gave the much vaunted Kerry inside
trio of All Stars Geraldine O’Shea and Kacy
O’ Driscoll and Patrice Dennehy a torrid time
and broke up many an attack. The four person
half back line of Angela Walsh, Amanda Murphy,
Briege Corkery and Geraldine O’Flynn did a
magnificent job all through. Capt Juliet Murphy
and Rena Buckley got the better of the midfield
exchanges and the eager beaver forwards did
the rest.

Full marks to Eamonn Ryan who came in this
year as Coach for getting the mix right, blending
the young with the experienced to cement a
winning combination. There were further scenes
of Jubilation when Muster Vice President Michael
Ryan the Waterford supreme who was on the
sideline for the last 17 Munster senior finals
, presented the cup to Juliet Murphy.

Cork scorers: Geraldine O’Flynn 1-5
Valerie Mulcahy 1-3 Aisling O’Connor 1-1 Mary
O’Connor 1-1 Nollaig Cleary 0-1 Breige Corkery
0-1 Juliet Murphy 0-1
Cork: Elaine Harte, Niamh Keohane,
Brid Stack, Laura Power, Briege Corkery, Angela
Walsh, Catriona Foley, Juliette Murphy, Rena
Buckley, Nollaig Cleary, Valerie Mulcahy,
Geraldine O’Flynn, Mary O’Connor, Regina Curtin,
Amanda Murphy. Claire O’Donoghue, Ashling
O’Connor, Norita Kelly, Sinead O’Reilly, Mairead
Kelly, Hanora Kelleher, Karen O’Sulllivan,
Deirdre O’Sullivan, Ciara Walsh.
Kerry: Andrea O’Donoghue, Jenny Johnson,
Grainne Ni Fhlatharta, Jackie Murnane, Siobhan
O’Connor, Katie Gleeson, Neasa Ni Shuileabhain,
Caroline Kelly, Edel O’ Connell, Shari Delaney,
Sarah O’Connor, Katie Kennelly, Patrice Dennehy,
Geraldine O’Shea, Kacey O’Driscoll. Ciara
O’Connor, Deirdre Corridon, Catherine Sexton,
, Noreen Feeley, Riona Ni Chinneide, Mary
Kelly, Jennifer Healy, Jacinta Murphy, Mairead
Finnegan, Bernie Cronin, Amanda Brosnan, Grainne
O’Malley, Emer Knightly, Sarah Jane Joy.


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs