Tipperary Junior team make history

Tipperary Junior team made history on Monday
last when they captured the County’s first Munster Junior
title defeating Limerick in a thrilling final played in
Pairc Ui Rinn, Cork. Tipperary, having won Senior titles
in 1974, 1975 and again in 1980, failed to capture a Munster
title at any grade since then. Limerick played the better
football in the first half and lead by 8 points to 2 at
the break. Tipperary playing with the wind in the second
half, scored 9 points, while Limerick only managed to score
one point. The last few minutes of the game were nailbiting,
however the Tipp supporters got behind the team and they
managed to maintain their two point lead.

There were scenes of jubilation at the final
whistle with the the full-time score reading Tipperary 11
points, Limerick 9 points. The celebrations continued in
Cahir and Ballylooby, home of team captain Denise Fitzgerald
until the small hours of Tuesday morning. The win was the
culmination of a number of years hard work by the players
and their mentors and a thoroughly deserved victory in the
end. Kerry proved much too strong for Tipperary in the Cailíní
Óige game, however, it was a terrific achievement for them
to reach this year’s final.

Patreece Ryan

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs