Tipperary Ladies News and Notes 13.07.2015

Tipperary captured the All-Ireland Under 14 B Ladies Football title on Saturday courtesy of six point victory over Donegal at Tuam Stadium. Seven days previously, prospects of All-Ireland silverware looked remote but two injury time goals secured a replay. As with typical Irish weather it had deteriorated to a very wet and windy day with the wind blowing from one goal to the other.

All Ireland U-14 B Final Replay, Tuam Stadium Galway 11/7/2015 Donegal v Tipperary Tipperary's Marie Creedon and Nicola O'Dwyer lift the trophy Pic : Lorraine O'Sullivan
All Ireland U-14 B Final Replay, Tuam Stadium Galway 11/7/2015
Donegal v Tipperary
Tipperary’s Marie Creedon and Nicola O’Dwyer lift the trophy
Pic : Lorraine O’Sullivan

Donegal won the toss and opted to play against the wind. Tipperary took full advantage of this in the first two minutes with a Caitlin Kennedy goal and two points from Angela McGuigan and Caitlin Kennedy. Donegal’s first point in the sixth minute was from Amy Boyle Carr. The teams traded points before Angela McGuigan pointed a free and Caitlin Kennedy added another point for Tipperary stretching their margin to six points entering the second quarter. Tipperary were looking the stronger team but the defenders for both sides were the dominant ones as there was no scores for the next eight minutes. Kate McClenaghan, Donegal added to their score line with a point, the last for this half. Meanwhile, Tipperary’s Ciara Dwan and Ruth Butler each pointed for Tipperary, leaving the half time score Tipperary 1-7 Donegal 0-3.

A revitalised Donegal team returned and with the aid of the breeze added a Megan Havlin goal and a point courtesy of Clodagh Ní Ghallchóir. Suddenly, there was only three points between the sides. Two more points from Tipperary’s Ellie Ryan and Angela McGuigan were traded with two points from Clodagh Ní Ghallchóir, Donegal. Substitutions made as the game approached the final quarter re-energised the Tipperary side with Emma Ryan putting Tipperary in front by four heading in to the closing stages. Mya Alcorn, Donegal responded with a point in the sixty second minute but as Donegal pushed forward seeking a goal, it was Tipperary who once again came up trumps in injury time as Eimear Boland raised the green flag and ensure the title was going back to Tipperary – final score – Tipperary 2-10 Donegal 1-7.

Congratulations to the Management team of Ed Burke, Manager; Garreth Byrne, Frances Ryan, Mary Murphy and Tony Smith, Selectors and Olly Griffin, Physio for their outstanding commitment to the team.

Nicola O’Dwyer received the Player of the Match Award from Hugh Devenney, Ladies Gaelic Football and joint captains, Nicola O’Dwyer and Maire Creedon received the All Ireland Cup. The team’s never say die attitude won each game for them. Throughout the year they had provided thrilling games and they have received their reward now, well done girls. A special mention to the parents of the ladies who gave up their time to attend training and matches.

Thanks to Kevin O’Leary, Clonmel for sponsoring the team. Well done to all the supporters who travelled the long journey with the team.

Tipperary Team:- Nicola O’Dwyer, Captain (Mullinahone); Niamh Martin (Slievenamon), Aine Hahessy (Slievenamon), Eimear O’Connor (Ardfinnan); Dervla Heffernan (Boherlahan), Caitlin Kennedy (Aherlow), Ciara Maher (Thurles Sarsfields); Maire Creedon (Thurles Sarsfields), Orla Winston (Clonmel Commercials); Lucy Spillane (Fethard), Ava Fennessy (Clonmel Commercials), Ruth Butler (Templemore); Niamh Ryan (Moyne Templetuohy), Angela McGuigan (Slievenamon), Ciara Dwan (Boherlahan).
Subs used:- Ellie Ryan (Boherlahan) for Niamh Ryan (H/T); Louise Norris (Moyle Rovers) for Dervla Heffernan (43rd); Cailín Napier (Clonmel Commercials) for Ruth Butler (43rd); Emma Ryan (Lattin Cullen) for Ciara Dwan (53rd); Eimear Boland (St. Pat’s) for Ellie Ryan (55th)
Scorers:- Caitlin Kennedy 1-2, Angela McGuigan 0-3, Eimear Boland 1-0, Orla Winston 0-1, Ciara Dwan 0-1, Ruth Butler 0-1, Ellie Ryan 0-1, Emma Ryan 0-1.

Donegal Team:- Bronagh Gallagher, Clodagh Skelly, Eillie Barron, Amy Laverty, Niamh Skelly, Rionach Giles-McMenamin, Aoibh Faulkner (C), Sarah Harkin, Saoirse Bonner, Megan Havlin, Clodagh Ní Ghallchóir, Niamh Harkin, Mya Alcorn, Amy Boyle Carr, Kate McClenaghan
Scorers:- Megan Havlin 1-0, Clodagh Ní Ghallchóir 0-3, Kate McClenaghan 0-2, Amy Boyle Carr 0-1, Mya Alcorn 0-1

Tipperary Ladies Football hosted their second Annual Golf Classic on Thursday last in Cahir Park Golf Club. This was another huge success and we would like to thank all who supported the Classic either by sponsoring a team, tee boxes, donating prizes or helping out on the day. A special word of thanks to Cahir Park Golf Club who had the course in great condition and to the kitchen staff who provided a fabulous meal to all the teams when they finished.
Overall Team Winners –
1. John McCormack, Jerry McCormack, Thomas Everard & Eddie O’Meara
2. Pakie Horan, D. Kealy, D. Taylor & C. Gaffney
3. Wm Walsh, Thomas Walsh, Liam Walsh & Ml Fogarty
4. Trevor Melbourne, Denis Conway, Paul McGarry & Tony Norris
5. Eddie Flynn, Billy Hewitt, Peter Gaffney & Liam Cooney.
6. Noel Flanagan, Dom Spillane, John O’Brien & Ml Flannery
7. Eamon Power, Declan White, Donal Foley & S. Crosse
8. John Kendrick, Graig McGuire, Trevor Coveney & Simon McInerney
9. Paddy Ryan, Franny Kelly, Tom Lambe & Tom O’ Neill

Lady Winners: Norma O’Brien, Mary Comerford, Mary Kenrick & Eleanor Carroll

Ladies Nearest the Pin: Ita Luddy
Mens Nearest the Pin: Noel Flanagan
Ladies Longest Drive: Catherine Morrissey
Mens Longest Drive: Brian Aherne

Raffle Winners
1st J. Galvin
2nd Ml Fogarty
3rd Noel Flanagan
4th Donal Foley
5th Jim Browne

Information concerning Ladies Football will appear in these notes. If you wish to include any item of interest, please contact us at pro@tipperaryladiesfootball.ie before 8pm on Sunday. Visit the Tipperary Ladies Football web site at www.tipperaryladiesfootball.ie to date with all the latest news in Tipperary Ladies Football.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs