Tyrone's Teamtalk All-Star award nominees in ladies football, hurling, camogie and handball announced

Tyrone’s Teamtalk All-Star award nominees
in ladies football, hurling, camogie and handball announced
The 3rd Annual Teamtalk Tyrone All-Star Awards, scheduled
to take place on Friday 8th December in The Great Northern Hotel
in Bundoran, has really captured the imagination of the O’Neill
County public in recent weeks. In the past few week there have been
thousands of votes registered in all gaelic games codes within the
county and last Tuesday the final 50 nominees for the prestigious
Tyrone All-Star Club football team for 2006 were announced.

On Friday the final nominees for the Individual All-Star Awards
in Ladies football, Hurling, Camgoie and Handball were made public
and has certainly provided plenty of food for thought ahead of the
final announcement of award winners at the eagerly awaited Gala
Banquet. In ladies football there are five awards down for decision
on the night with a total of 17 players from 11 clubs accross the
county eyeing that much sought after title of ‘Player of the Year’
in their respective grade.

At county level the five players to make the shortlist are county
captain Maura Kelly, Siobhan McGarvey, Lynda Donnelly, Sinead McLaughlin
and goalkeeper Elaine Mallaghan. McGarvey isn the only player to
also make the final 5 shortlist in the ‘Ladies Senior Club Player
of the Year’ category. The Errigal Ciaran star will be up against
Carrickmore duo Gemma Begley and Roisin Rafferty as well as Dromore’s
Orla O’Neill and Cathy Donnelly of St. Macartan’s. There are three
different clubs in contention for both the Junior and Intermediate
awards with Caroline Kelly (Moy), Carla McGarrity (Fr. Rock’s) and
Orla Toner (Loughmacrory) vying for the Intermediate award. At Junior
level Aisling Hagan (Beragh), Ciara Curran (Ardboe) and Catriona
McGahan (Galbally) are in line for the honours.

Three of the most exciting young players in the province are hoping
to pick up the ‘Young Ladies Player of the Year’ award. Last year’s
winner Sarah Connolly (Errigal Ciaran) has made the shortlist again
along with Neamh Woods (Drumragh) and Roisin Rafferty (Carrickmore)
who is also in line for the senior club player of the year award.

All ladies football followers now have a final chance to have their
say in deciding which of the above players could come away with
their individual coveted prize. Voting will continue now only for
the shortlisted players mentioned and votes can be made by email
to ladiesfootball@thegame.ie.

In Camogie there will be 7 players in attendance on the night in
search of 2 awards. Five players have made the shortlist for Camogie
Player of the Year, namely Denise Daly (Eglish), Susan McCann (Eglish),
Maria Jordan (Eglish), Mairead McGuckin (Clonoe), Sinead O’Neill
(Clonoe). Maria Jordan is also eyeing the ‘Young Camogie Player
of the Year’ award along with last year’s winner Aisling Corr (Derrytresk)
and Michaela Moss (Strabane).

There will be 8 hurlers from 4 clubs around the county in line for
the 2 Hurling awards on the night. Eire Og captain John Kerr along
with Leigh Moore (Eire Og), Sean Og O’Hagan (Eoghain Ruadh), Paddy
Devine (Shamrocks) and Ryan Mor O’Neill (Naomh Colmcille) complete
the lineup for ‘Teamtalk Tyrone Hurler of the Year’. The ‘Young
Hurler of the Year’ award has seen Conor Grogan (Eire Og), Conor
Gallagher (Shamrock’s) and Niall Boyle (Eire Og) make the final

There will also be the ‘Handballer of the Year’ award to be given
out on the 8th December and Ciaran Meenagh (Loughmacrory), Darragh
Daly (Carrickmore) and Shane O’Neill (Brackey) will be the final
3 in contention for that accolade. Brian Donaghy (Loughmacrory),
Caolan Daly (Carrickmore) and 2004 Handballer of the Year, Padraig
McGlinchey (Carrickmore) will be in line for the ‘Young Handballer
of the Year’.

(vote by email: ladiesfootball@thegame.ie)

Ladies County Player of the Year

Siobhan McGarvey

Maura Kelly

Lynda Donnelly

Sinead McLaughlin

Elaine Mallaghan

Ladies Senior Club Player of the Year

Gemma Begley, Carrickmore

Orla O’Neill, Dromore

Roisin Rafferty, Carrickmore

Siobhan McGarvey, Errigal Ciaran

Cathy Donnelly, St. Macartan’s

Ladies Intermediate Club Player of the Year

Caroline Kelly, Moy

Carla McGarrity, Fr. Rock’s

Orla Toner, Loughmacrory

Ladies Junior Club Player of the Year

Aisling Hagan, Beragh

Ciara Curran, Ardboe

Catriona McGahan, Galbally

Young Ladies Player of the Year

Neamh Woods, Drumragh

Roisin Rafferty, Carrickmore

Sarah Connolly, Errigal Ciaran

(vote by email: camogie@thegame.ie)

Camogie Player of the Year

Susan McCann, Eglish

Sinead O’Neill, Clonoe

Mairead McGuckin, Clonoe

Denise Daly, Eglish

Maria Jordan, Eglish
Young Camogie Player of the Year

Aisling Corr, Derrytresk

Maria Jordan, Eglish

Michaela Moss, Strabane


(vote by email: hurling@thegame.ie)
Hurler of the Year

John Kerr, Eire Og

Leigh Moore, Eire Og

Sean Og Hagan, Eoghain Ruadh

Paddy Devine, Shamrocks

Ryan Mor O’Neill, Naomh Colmcille

Young Hurler of the Year

Niall Boyle, Eire Og

Conor Grogan, Eire Og

Conor Gallagher, Shamrocks

(vote by email: handball@thegame.ie)

Handballer of the Year

Shane O’Neill, Brackey

Darragh Daly, Carrickmore

Ciaran Meenagh, Loughmacrory
Young Handballer of the Year

Caolan Daly, Carrickmore

Brian Donaghy, Loughmacrory

Padraig McGlinchey, Carrickmore


Naomh Colmcille Hurling Club

Eimear Teague, Sperrin Og/Ladies Football

Caoleann McEnhill, St. Enda’s/Scor

Patrick McCrory, Carrickmore/Handball

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs