The draws for the Ulster senior and intermediate championships were made at the Ulster Convention in Kellys Inn on Thursday night last.

In the senior competition reigning champions Monaghan will meet Down in the preliminary round game on Saturday 4th June with the winners then playing Down in the semi final a fortnight later. In the other semi final Tyrone will play Donegal (12th June).

Three teams will contest the intermediate championship. In the first round Cavan will meet Antrim with the winners progressing to the final and the loser playing Fermanagh in a semi final. The Cavan v Antrim game will take place on 4th June.


Both the senior and intermediate finals will be played on Sunday 10th July.




Donegal’s Hugh Devenney was returned unopposed as Ulster Ladies President at the annual AGM held in Kelly’s Inn last night.

A packed meeting in Kelly’s Inn also seen Ann Mc Kenna (Donegal) and Aisling Doyle (Tyrone) elected to the executive committee for 2011. Monaghan’s Mickey West also takes up the new role of Ulster Equipment Officer.

A number of fine reports were delivered. Registrar John Joe Brady revealed that membership numbers were up by 67 on the previous year with 13,214 members registered in 216 clubs. Once again it is Tyrone who led the way with 2817 registered, an increase of 226 on 2009. Six counties have over a thousand members. John Joe did not seek re-election and the new Registrar for 2011 is Paddy Donnelly who moves from fixtures.

Fixtures Secretary Paddy Donnelly delivered his twelfth consecutive report. A total of 82 games were played in the various Ulster championships which was 6 more than last year. Paddy used a total of 31 different referees for the games.

Sheena Tally delivered her usual high standard report via powerpoint and also revealed three new logo’s. After giving an explanation of each the meeting voted on a new Ulster Ladies Logo. The new logo will be officially launched in the very near future.

The election of officers ran very smoothly. Long standing Assistant Treasurer Johnny Kelly did not seek re-election and there were no contests. The delegates to the various Central Council sub committees will be elected at the next Ulster meeting.

The Ulster Executive 2011

President – Hugh Devenney (Donegal)
Vice President – Joe Lagan (Derry)
Secretary – Mary Keegan (Armagh)
Assistant Secretaries – Lucy Groom (Armagh) and Eileen Jones (Tyrone)
Registrar – Paddy Donnelly (Tyrone)
Treasurer – Seamus Fleming (Derry)
Assistant Treasurers – John Joe Brady (Cavan) and Annette Boyle (Armagh)
Development Officer – Philip O Hare (Down)
Culture and Language Officer – Ann Mc Kenna (Donegal)
Fixtures Secretary – Aisling Doyle (Tyrone)
PRO – Paul Swift (Monaghan)
Delegate to Central Council – Pat Chapman (Fermanagh)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs