Ulster club champions Donaghmoyne

Ulster club champions Donaghmoyne


Ulster club champions Donaghmoyne won their fourth
successive Monaghan County title when they beat Aghabog by sixteen
points on Saturday night last. The reigning champions started without
regulars Aine Gilsenan, Karen Hall and Majella Woods but it was
two youngsters who were to be the aces in their pack. Former Ulster
young player of the year Catriona Mc Connell fired over eight points
while fifteen year old Cora Courtney found the net on two occasions.

Mc Connell opened the scoring with a nice point in the ninth minute.
Donaghmoyne then doubled their tally when Eileen Murtagh sent over.
Aghabog’s only score of the half arrived in the twelfth minute via
the boot of Laura Boylan. In the second quarter Donaghmoyne hit
an unanswered 2-3. Mc Connell added another couple of points while
Murtagh also fired over. Late in the half Cora Courtney scored two
great goals. For the first a speculative ball was sent across the
full forward line. All of the defenders missed it but the lively
Courtney vollied it soccer style into the net from ten metres. The
second was equally spectacular. Courtney picked the ball up in the
half forward line, beat three defenders with a jinky run and planted
the ball in the net to leave the half time score 2-6 to 0-1 in Donaghmoyne’s

Aghabog’s cause wasn’t helped when centre back Aisling Smith was
sin binned early in the second half. Mc Connell and Boylan traded
points in the third quarter but once again the Boylan point was
to be her sides only score of the half. Mc Connell (2), Hazel Kingham
and Lorraine Daly fired over further points before Kingham was sin
binned for persistent fouling. In the last few minutes Mc Connell
brought her tally for the evening to eight points with another couple
of fine scores. Her seventh point was something special. Maurice
Fitzgerald would have been proud of it, as she scored tight out
on the sideline all of fifty metres from the posts. It was no surprise
that she was named player of the match.

In fairness Donaghmoyne won the personal battles all over the field
and deserved their 2-12 to 0-2 win.

Donaghmoyne – L. Martin, J. Geoghan, M. Grimes, N. Lymch, A. O Toole,
F. Courtney, J. Courtney, A. Casey, S. Courtney, E. Murtagh (0-2),
H. Kingham (0-1), C. Courtney (2-0), D. Mc Mahon, C. Mc Connell
(0-8), L. Daly (0-1).

Aghabog – M. Kelly, C. Mulligan, E. O Donoghue, S. Kelly, B. Mc
Fadden, A. Smith, C. Brady, C. Brady, C. Murphy, L. Boylan (0-2),
J. Greenan, L. Mc Connon, D. Carolan,

D. Mc Gorman, S. Quinn. 

Paul Swift – Ulster PRO


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs