Ulster convention round up - Tyrone's Eileen Jones is President-elect

Tyrone’s Eileen Jones has been elected ULGFA President Elect. The Dungannon teacher will bring a wealth of experience to the post when she takes it up in January 2019.

President Michael Naughton opened proceedings at the Congress and then delivered his address. Among the more interesting items in his delivery to the delegates he reflected on the various 25th anniversary celebration events, congratulated the inter provincial team on their 6 in a row and praised supporters from the province who were among the 45,000 plus crowd at the All Ireland finals which featured 3 Ulster teams. He also thanked delegates, Executive members and Ulster Council staff (Ronan and Ciaran) for their support and help.
Afterwards reports where delivered by Gerry Doherty(Secretary), Paul Swift (PRO), Paddy Donnelly (Registrar and fixtures) and JohnJoe Brady (Finance).

These reports threw up a number of interesting facts including the following:
·          Our Facebook page has over 7668 members
·          Over 100,000 people viewed Jerome Quinn’s video of Derry player Ciara McGuirk being proposed to in Croke Park              
·          There are 239 clubs in the province four more than last year
·          Our total membership is 19664 an increase of 1363 on 2016
·          Tyrone has the largest membership with 3319 followed by Donegal with 2995
·          125 games were played in Ulster competitions 98 at underage and 27 at adult
·          31 referees and 16 linespersons were used

A number of motions, bye laws and recommendations were then debated. A number of these are to be sent forward to the National Congress. It was agreed to resurrect county histories and to this end all county secretaries are to forward their convention booklets to the Ulster Administrator.

The following Executive was elected to run ladies football in Ulster in 2018
President – Michael Naughton (Donegal)
Vice President – Hugh Devenney (Donegal)
President Elect – Eileen Jones (Tyrone)
Secretary – Gerry Doherty (Armagh)
Assistant Secretary – Lucy Groom (Armagh)
Treasurer – John Joe Brady (Cavan)
Assistant Treasurer – Annette Boyle (Armagh)
Registrar – Paddy Donnelly (Tyrone)
PRO – Paul Swift (Monaghan)
Development Officer – Philip O Hare (Down)
Culture and Language Officer – Caroline Brady(Donegal)

The draws for the 2018 Ulster senior and intermediate championships were made the annual convention earlier today. 
In the first semi final Cavan will meet Armagh (Saturday 2nd June) while the following week holders Donegal play Monaghan in a repeat of the 2018 decider. The Ulster final will be played on the weekend of June 15th/17th
Down will meet Tyrone in the first semi final with the winner progressing to the final and the loser playing Fermanagh in the second semi final. The intermediate final is also scheduled for the weekend of the 15th/17th June. 
Its a straight shoot out between Derry and Antrim.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs