Ulster Finals match reports now on-line

Ladies Senior Football Final

Monaghan 3-09 Donegal 1-10 Monaghan had to battle
hard to overcome a spirited Donegal side in a tough
and closely fought Ulster final at Clones. Donegal
will rue nine first half wides and a crucial “sin
binning” for Dianne Toner in the second half but
on balance Monaghan shaded it with veteran Brenda
Mc Anespie turning back the clock to score a goal
in each half. McAnespie scored an early goal and
Edel Byrne and Orla Callan added to Monaghan’s tally,
but the accurate Mo O’Donnell kept Donegal in touch
with four first half points. Sheila Campbell added
a brace to leave the game level 1-3 to 6 at half

Player of the Game Jenny Greenan opened the scoring
in the second half but then Toner was “sin binned”.
Monaghan took control of the game and McAnespie
scored her second goal to leave five points between
the sides.

However, Donegal responded with a goal from Bernie
Gallagher to reduce the margin in time for Toner’s
re-introduction. Monaghan substitute Aishling Smith
scored a point that was cancelled out by another
O’Donnell score for Donegal. The teams traded scores
for much of the second half and but with only four
minutes to go and with practically her first touch
of the game, substitute Bonnie Fleming caught a
high ball at the edge of the square and turned and
buried the decisive goal to put Monaghan six points
clear. A point by Donegal’s Yvonne McGonagle was
only consolation and would be the games last and
Monaghan were triumphant again in Ulster.

In the Junior Final, Armagh scored an incredible
2-12 in the second half to come from behind to beat
cavan 2-19 to 1-9. Ailenn Mathews contributed 8
points to kick Armagh to their first Junior success.

MONAGHAN: V Quigley, D Toal, M Croarkin (
A Smith (0-1) Half time), C Reilly , M Lavelle,
C Brady , C Mc Guinness , J Greenan (0-1) , C Mulligan,
E Byrne (0-3), N Kindlon (0-3), T Mc Nally, O Callan
(0-1) ( A Tierney Half time) ,B Mc Anespie (2-0)
, D Dempsey ( B Fleming 55 mins (1-0)
DONEGAL: C Mc Hugh, M Doherty , M Devenney
D Dunnion, A Mc Donnell, D Toner, C Mc Grory, N
Stapleton, Y Mc Monagle(0-1), A Doherty(0-1), B
Gallagher(1-1), S Campbell (0-2) , M O Donnell (0-5),
Debbie Lee Fox , K Lacey
Referee – Brendan Gallagher (Tyrone)


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs