Donegal’s Hugh Devenney (pictured with outgoing President Gerry Doherty) is the new Ulster Ladies President. The Laghey man beat Derry’s John Groogan for the post and now takes over from Gerry Doherty who had served his three year term.

A packed meeting in Kelly’s Inn also seen Eileen Jones (Tyrone), Lucy Groom (Armagh) and Mickey West (Monaghan) elected to the executive committee for 2010.

A number of fine reports were delivered. Registrar John Joe Brady revealed that membership numbers were up by 350 on the previous year with 13,147 members registered in 217 clubs. Once again it is Tyrone who led the way with 2591 registered. Six counties have over a thousand members. John Joe also pointed to the fact that seven counties had managed to increase the numbers playing however in Tyrone and Down membership was down 311 and 81 respectively. Eleven new clubs were also formed in 2009.

Fixtures Secretary Paddy Donnelly delivered his eleventh consecutive report. A total of seventy six games were played in the various Ulster championships. Paddy used a total of 27 different referees for the games.

Gerry Doherty then delivered his third and final presidential address and was touched when Ulster President Tom Daly appeared and made a presentation to him on behalf of Ulster Council men.

The election of officers ran very smoothly. There were just two contests on the day. Hugh Devenney beat John Groogan for the Presidential race while Development Officer Philip O Hare survived a tight vote against Martina Dillon (Tyrone).

The Ulster Executive 2010

President – Hugh Devenney (Donegal)
Vice President – Joe Lagan (Derry)
Secretary – Mary Keegan (Armagh)
Assistant Secretaries – Lucy Groom (Armagh) and Eileen Jones (Tyrone)
Registrar – John Joe Brady (Cavan)
Treasurer – Seamus Fleming (Derry)
Assistant Treasurers – Johnny Kelly (Monaghan) and Annette Boyle (Armagh)
Development Officer – Philip O Hare (Down)
Culture and Language Officer – Mickey West (Monaghan)
Fixtures Secretary – Paddy Donnelly (Tyrone)
PRO – Paul Swift (Monaghan)
Delegate to Central Council – Pat Chapman (Fermanagh)
Central Council Committees

John Joe Brady – Cavan
Jim Shannon – Monaghan

Fr. Peter Clarke – Armagh
Geraldine mc Govern – Fermanagh

Paul Swift – Monaghan
Pat Chapman – Fermanagh

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs