Ulster rivals Armagh and Monaghan name teams for TG4 All-Ireland SFC opener

AN Ulster derby lies in store on Saturday as Armagh and Monaghan have the honour of kick-starting the round-robin phase of the 2018 TG4 All-Ireland series (12.30pm).

The counties clash at St Tiernach’s Park in Clones in the first of a LIVE TG4 double-header offering, with Cavan and Mayo to follow at 2.15pm.

Armagh and Monaghan were both defeated by champions Donegal in the TG4 Ulster championship, with Armagh suffering the heavier loss in the provincial decider.

Now it’s the chance for redemption in the All-Ireland series and in a group that also contains Munster champions Cork, this really is a pivotal fixture.

Defeat for either side would see them face an uphill battle to reach the quarter-finals, and a keenly-contested encounter is anticipated.

Armagh have Caroline O’Hanlon continuing to pull the strings inside, with Aimee Mackin an outlet for good ball.

Monaghan have a nice balance to their team, and with plenty of experienced stars on show.

Captain Sharon Courtney is a tower of strength at centre back, Muireann Atkinson will provide power and running ability from the half forward line, with Ciara McAnepsie and Ellen McCarron inside capable of causing damage.

Armagh team: 

1 Caroline O’Hare Mullaghbawn
2 Sarah Marley Lissummon
3 Caoimhe Morgan Lissummon
4 Sharon Reel Carrickcruppen
5 Mairead Tennyson Silverbridge
6 Tiarna Grimes Clann Eireann
7 Marian McGuinness Carrickcruppen
8 Clodagh McCambridge Clann Eireann
9 Caroline O’Hanlon Carrickcruppen
10 Maebh Morriarty Clann Eireann
11 Fionnuala McKenna Armagh Harps
12 Lauren McConville Crossmaglen
13 Aimee Mackin Shane O’Neills
14 Aoife McCoy Dromintee
15 Kelly Mallon Armagh Harps

Monaghan team: 

1 Linda Martin Donaghmoyne
2 Josie Fitzpatrick Inniskeen
3 Fiona Courtney Donaghmoyne
4 Rachel Mc Kenna Truagh
5 Aoife Mc Anespie Emyvale
6 Sharon Courtney Donaghmoyne
7 Hazel Kingham Donaghmoyne
8 Eileen Mc Kenna Truagh
9 Eimear Mc Anespie Emyvale
10 Rosemary Courtney Donaghmoyne
11 Muireann Atkinson O’Neill Shamrocks
12 Cora Courtney Donaghmoyne
13 Ciara Mc Anespie Emyvale
14 Niamh Callan Donaghmoyne
15 Ellen Mc Carron Aghabog


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs