Under 14 ‘A’ Championship All Ireland Final Match Report

Under 14 A Championship Final – Cork V Mayo.

St. Brendan’s Park, Birr,

Final Score: Cork 2-9 Mayo 0-2










The U14 ‘A’ Championship Final opened at blistering pace with Cork proving the more dominant side. Mayo adopted a two woman full forward line with No. 15 Elis Ronayne sitting in front of her full back line.

The Cork No.11 Laura Cleary and No.14 Danielle O Connor got the Rebels off to a great start as they combined extremely well in the opening exchanges.

Cork were the first to get on the score board with Laura Clearly kicking two frees over the bar.

Before the clock at hit 10 minutes the Cork girls had hit the net for the first time. When given the opportunity the Cork No.17 Nicola Dennehy made no mistake as she hammered the ball to the back of the Mayo net.

It was clear from the outset that Cork were very strong down the middle of the field with Beatrice Casey and Emma Spillane clearing everything that came their way. The midfield pairing of Ciara Hartnett and Lorraine O Neill were working very hard and upfront all fowards were combining well to convert scoring chances.

Mayo registered their first point through a Ciara Moran shot that sailed over the bar. Cork however counteracted this with 4 unanswered points, while Mayo’s Michaela Walsh did her bit to keep her team in the running as the contributed a point.

Half time score Cork 1-7 Mayo 0-2.


The opening 15 of the second half saw a much tighter Mayo defence with Claire Flatley and Stacey Mangan defending well. Cork however continued to dominant. Beatrice Rice and Laura Cleary were again proving a major problem for Mayo.


Corks Elaine Needham scored her second point from play with an excellent strike from her right foot and Danielle O’ Connor added her third from play.


When it seemed like everything was over Mayo were rewarded a penalty after Maria Reilly was fouled but the Cork keeper Anne Brennan pulled off an excellent save to deny a Mayo lifeline.


Shortly after the same occurred at the opposite end as Cork were awarded a penalty. This time however, Laura Cleary made no mistake as she converted to round off an excellent day for the Eire Og girl.


Final score Cork 2-9, Mayo 0-2.

Mayo Team


1. Gemma Murphy (Hollymount), 2. Chloe McHale (Knockmore), 3. Claire Flatley (Kilmovee Shamrocks), 4. Diane Tierney (Hollymount) 5. Aoife Gilmartin (Moy Davitts),

6. Stacey Mangan (Crossmolina) (Capt) 7. Zoe Burke. (Westport) 8. Sarah Lavelle. (Westport) 9. Ciara Moran. (Westport)10. Tara Philips (Kilmovee Shamrocks), 11. Hannah Cleary. (Claremorris), 12. Rebecca Waldron. (Davitts), 13. Saoirse Ludden. (Westport) 14. Michaela Walsh. (Swinford/Kilasser) 15. Elis Ronayne. (Davitts)


16. Samantha McDonald (Crossmolina), 17. Elaine Needham. (Louisburgh), 18. Lisa Reid. (Moy Davitts), 19. Cassie Nyland. (St Mary’s), 20. Ann Sheridan. (Burrishule), 21. Lauren Sweeney (Knockmore) 22. Roisin Durkan. (Swinford/Kilasser), 23. Grainne Mulligan (Moy Davitts), 24. Aisling O’Connor. (Davitts), 25. Keanna McVann. (Knockmore), 26. Maria Reilly (Kiltane) 27. Aisling McNulty (Burrishule), 28. Grainne Flynn (Castlebar Mitchells)

29. Mollie Higgins. (Hollymount), 30. Amy Dowling. (Carnacon)



Cork Team

1.Anne Brennan (Fermoy), 2. Rachel Geary (Inch Rovers), 3. Emma Spillane (Bantry), 4. Aisling O’Sullivan (Mourneabbey), 5. Aideen Lynch (Bandon), 6. Beatrice Casey (Boherbue), 7. Laura Crowley (Mourneabbey), 8. Ciara Hartnett (Douglas), 9. Lorraine O’Neill (Clann na nGael), 10. Caroline O’Mahony (Ballyphehane), 11. Laura Cleary (Eire Og), 12 Abbie Scannell (Fermoy), 13. Meg Jo O’Sullivan (Beara), 14. Danielle O’Connor (Boherbue), 15. Niamh Lynch (Douglas).


Subs: 16. Caoimhe Moore (Kanturk), 17. Nicola Dennehy (St Vals), 18. Mairead O’Sullivan (St Vals), 19. Emer Connolly (Carrigaline), 20. Julie Coleman (Eire Og), 21. Sarah Hayes (Rosscarbery), 22. Jade Fox (Douglas), 23. Laura O’Neill (Bishopstown), 24. Jolene Forde (Mourneabbey), 25. Julie Poland (Bishopstown), 26. Niamh Murphy (Erins Own), 27. Rachel Hegarty (Rockbán), 28. Sophie Wong (Douglas), 29. Rachel Buckley (Banteer), 30. Kate O’Donovan (Bandon), 31. Roisin Murray (Carrigaline), 32. Emma Geany (Ballyphehane).


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs