Vhi Healthcare Club Championship Match Reports

Vhi Healthcare Ladies Football
Club Championship Match Reports


Cora Staunton scored 1-11 as Carnacon made up for last year’s
All-Ireland senior final heartbreak by overpowering Inch Rovers
in a one-sided affair at Banagher, Co Offaly. Inch had no
answer to Staunton’s brilliance, as Carnacon’s physical edge
set the platform for the Mayo superstar to notch 1-4 from

Staunton’s well-taken goal helped Carnacon lead 1-6 to 0-3
at half-time, but Inch were offered hope when a goal from
the hard-working Amy O’Shea cut the gap to two points early
in the second half. But Carnacon’s experience and strength
showed thereafter and Rovers had no answer, with Fiona McHale’s
goal 15 minutes out ending the game as a contest. Claire Egan
and Martha Carter gave Carnacon the midfield edge, while Sharon
and Caroline McGing led a tight defence and Michelle McGing
and McHale caused problems up front. Inch were hit by the
withdrawal of star midfielder Orla Cotter before the game
through injury, and were already missing former All Star Mary
O’Connor. O’Shea, Jill Horan and Angela Walsh worked hard
for them, but they ended up outclassed by a Carnacon side
filled with county stars. Meanwhile a dramatic comeback saw
Cork’s Mourneabbey deny long-time leaders Glen in the All-Ireland
IFC decider.

A fortuitous goal from midfielder Michelle McAteer midway
through the second half put the Derry side 1-12 to 1-7 in
front as they built on a 0-9 to 1-5 half-time advantage. They
seemed set for victory, with goalkeeper Bernie Cassidy performing
heroics to frustrate the Munster champions. But Mourneabbey,
who fielded five Cork All-Ireland minor winners, belied their
youth to calmly fight back and outscore Glen 0-7 to 0-1 in
the final quarter and claim the crown. Jenny McCarthy kicked
the equaliser before Siobhán Forde notched the last gasp winner
to break Glen’s hearts. Kathleen O’Brien scored a goal in
the first half that was similar to McAteer’s as her shot looped
over Cassidy from distance. Midfielder Ciara O’Sullivan won
the player of the match award.

It was a sweet success for Con O’Sullivan’s team as they added
the intermediate crown to the junior All-Ireland they won
two years ago.

VHI All-Ireland SFC final Carnacon (Mayo) 2-14 Inch Rovers
(Cork) 1-6

Carnacon scorers: Cora Staunton 1-11 (7f), Fiona McHale 1-1,
Joyce O’Hara, Claire Egan 0-1 each. Inch Rovers scorers: Amy
O’Shea 1-2, Claire Keohane 0-2, Jenny Duffy, Claire Egan 0-1

Mourneabbey scorers: Kathleen O’Brien 1-3, Jenny McCarthy
0-3f, Siobhán Forde, Ciara O’Sullivan, Róisín O’Sullivan 0-2
each, Shiela O’Callaghan, Laura Harrington 0-1 each. Glen
scorers: Kathy Conway 0-4 (1f), Mary Jo Wall 0-4 (1f), Michelle
McAteer 1-1, Ursula Mullan 0-2, Dearbhla McMaster, Carol Kielt
0-1 each.

VHI All-Ireland IFC final Mourneabbey (Cork) 1-14 Glen (Derry)
1-13 (Report to follow)

2007 VHI All-Ireland Club Senior Champions
2007 VHI All-Ireland Club Intermediate
Champions Mournabbey
2007 VHI All-Ireland Club Senior Runners
Up Inch Rovers
2007 VHI All-Ireland Club Intermediate
Runners Up Glen



Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs