2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Wall goal helps send Ballymacarbry into first All-Ireland final since 1998

currentaccount.ie All-Ireland Senior Club Championship semi-final

Ballymacarbry (Waterford) 1-10

Clann Éireann (Armagh) 0-5


Ballymacarby booked their place in the currentaccount.ie All-Ireland Senior Club Championship final for the first time since 1998, as they travelled to Clann Éireann on and were too strong for the Ulster champions.

Clann Éireann took the lead through an excellent Niamh Murray free, as she split the posts from 40 metres out, but Ballymac controlled the middle period of the first half.

The Waterford side pressed high on the Clann Éireann kick outs and forced turnover after turnover in the opposition’s half of the field. However, two points from BrÍd McMaugh was all they had to show for it, as they let the Ulster champions off the hook with two wides and two shots dropped short in the same period.

On 20 minutes, Murray converted once again to level the game and punish Ballymacarbry for their profligacy in front of the posts. But Mike Guiry’s side took a deserved half-time lead after scores from Kellyann Hogan and Summer Peters, before another Murray free left just one in it, at the interval.

Clann Éireann were fast out of the blocks in the second half and had a goal chance just 20 seconds after the restart. They won the throw-in and worked the ball to Cait Towe, who fisted the ball over the heads of the Ballymac defence, where Murray was in one on one, but she shot wide of the far post.

Two minutes later, Ballymacarbry had a goal chance of their own after Aileen Wall played a one-two with McMaugh, and she made no mistake, driving at the Clann Éireann defence before finishing low into the net.

Muireann Boyce pointed soon after to give the visitors a five-point lead, but Murray replied with a badly needed score for the hosts. A Hogan free restored that advantage before Murray was desperately unlucky not to raise a green flag, as her driven effort from 15 metres out went just wide.

That’s as close as Clann Éireann got, as Ballymac closed out the win in style, tagging on further points from McMaugh, Peters (two) and Clare Walsh, whilst Murray added her fifth of the game in consolation.


Scorers – Ballymacarbry: B McMaugh 0-4, A Wall 1-0, S Peters , K Hogan 0-2 (1f) each, M Boyce, C Walsh 0-1 each.

Clann Eireann: N Murray 0-5 (3f).


BALLYMACARBRY: L Fitzpatrick; G Nugent, M McGrath, Maeve Ryan; K McGrath, L Ryan, B McMaugh; K Hogan, A Barron; A Wall (capt.), S Peters, M Boyce; S Hallinan, C Walsh, R Browne. Subs: Michelle Ryan for M Boyce (43).


CLANN ÉIREANN: C Lawless; A Fleville, C McCambridge, G Carville; R Mulligan, M Moriarty, C Towe; T Grimes, M McCann; D Coleman, N Henderson (capt.), N Coleman; M McCambridge, N Murray, A Donohue. Subs: E McCafferty for M McCann (40), A Delaney for Fleville (49).


Ref – Anthony Marron (Monaghan).

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs