Walls makes big impact as Loreto Cavan book Lidl PPS All-Ireland senior A final place

Lidl All Ireland Post Primary Schools Senior ‘A’ Championship Semi-Final 

Loreto College, Cavan 2-9
Presentation College, Tuam 1-8

From Gerry Buckley

A three-point haul from open play by lively 37th-minute substitute Aisling Walls proved crucial as Loreto College, Cavan deservedly edged out Presentation College, Tuam in a very entertaining Lidl All-Ireland Post Primary Schools ladies senior football ‘A’ semi-final, played in cold but pleasant weather on the 3G pitch at St Loman’s Lakepoint Park in Mullingar this afternoon.


The Galway outfit started the better and Aoife O’Rourke’s fifth-minute goal put them four points to the good. Four minutes later, a fine Cavan move ended with Ally Cahill opening their account with a goal. Presentation College were generally more economical with the opportunities that came their way, especially from placed balls. However, with a minute of normal time remaining in the first half, Áine Reilly’s opportunist goal levelled the scoring (2-1 to 1-4). An inspirational point followed from centre half back Lauren McVeeety to put the winners ahead for the first time, and the Breffni County girls went on to lead by 2-3 to 1-5 at the interval.


With the aforementioned Aisling Walls prominent, Loreto College had increased their advantage to a goal (2-6 to 1-6) by the end of the third quarter. Both sides had a player sin-binned in separate incidents as the tension mounted – Áine Dennehy (Cavan) and Amy O’Donovan (Tuam). The gap was down to the bare minimum with 50 minutes elapsed, but the Cavan ladies finished the stronger and sealed their place in the decider with three late unanswered points – a brace from Walls either side of a converted free by Niamh McCorry.



Cavan: A Reilly 1-1, A Cahill 1-0, A Walls 0-3, E Brady and L McVeety (1f) 0-2 each, N McCorry 0-1 (f).


Tuam: A O’Rourke 1-3 (0-3f), A O’Donovan (2f) and N Daly 0-2 each, C Moran 0-1.


Loreto College, Cavan: C Boylan; A Brady, M Smith, E Galligan; A Dennehy, L McVeety, A Sexton; E Brady, D Beck; N Keenaghan, N McCorry, K Kellegher; M Cusack, A Reilly, A Cahill. Subs: A Walls for Kellegher (37), L O’Reilly for Beck (48), O Murphy for Galligan (54).


Presentation College, Tuam: E Glynn; K Hogan, L Coen, A Shaughnessy; R Connolly, C Crowe, K Geraghty; Amy Coen, N Daly; K Quigley, A O’Donovan, Aoife Coen; A O’Rourke, M Newell, C Moran. Subs: L Reilly for Newell (41), A Kilcummins for Connolly (54), R Collins for Hogan (60).   


Referee: M Kenny (Mayo).


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs