Weekly Article and Congress

Weekly Article and Congress

Cuman Gael na mBán go to Congress in Athlone this weekend with one major issue on the agenda, the election of a new president.


Incumbent, Geraldine Giles has entered her final year of tenure after serving the association with distinction for five years. The Association amended its rules in 2004 to allow Giles to serve a second consecutive term and a void will be left once the popular Westmeath native steps down.


The are four nominees in the running to replace Giles as president, Sligo’s Kathleen Kane, Mary Quinn of Leitrim, Pat Quill of Wexford and Derry’s Joe Lagan.


Pat Quill is seen by many as the front runner having previously served as President from 1985 to 1988. Quill has been a Development Officer for the Association for a number of years.


In last weekend’s Suzuki NFL action, Dublin caused a major upset by defeating All Ireland Champions Cork in Mallow. Dublin remain unbeaten in the competition but with just one win and three draws under their belts they require a miracle to qualify out of Division 1b.


Cork remain in poll position in Division 1b despite the loss to Dublin and Galway are the favourites to join them in the play-offs. Cork play Monaghan in their final game while Galway take on struggling Kildare. Dublin would require all three teams above them to draw in the final round of the competition if they are to advance.


Ulster rivals Armagh and Tyrone are vying for the second qualifying spot in Division 1a as unbeaten Kerry look certain to take top spot. Despite a game in hand there appears little hope of defending champions Mayo making the play-offs.


There are only four games across the three divisions this weekend as the postponed fixtures from Round 1 are fulfilled. Tyrone can take one step closer to a semi-final place if they can beat struggling Mayo while Laois will be looking to build on last weekend’s draw with Kerry and register a convincing win against relegation bound Wexford

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs