Westmeath Ease Past Laois

Lidl National Football League Division Two Semi-Final

Sunday 23rd April at 1pm

St. Brendan’s Park, Birr


Half Time: Westmeath 1-09, Laois 0-02

Full Time: Westmeath 2-17, Laois 1-10


Westmeath booked their place in the National League Division Two Final on May 7th with a 2-17 to 1-10 win over their Leinster counterparts Laois in a bright St. Brendan’s Park. Westmeath laid the foundations of the win in the opening half and despite coming under pressure in the second, battled through the storm and will now look to prepare for their second Div 2 Final appearance in as many years after being beaten by Donegal in 2016.

Despite a bright opening from the O’Moore County, it was Westmeath who dominated the opening half, outscoring their opponents by 1-09 to 0-02. A brace of points from Emma Lawlor in the 4th and 5th minutes were all Laois had on the scoreboard as the half time whistle blew with Westmeath keeping the umpires busy the other end. Archibold grabbed Westmeath’s opening three scores, all frees, as they put the Laois defence under pressure. The only goal of the half came on 23 mins, Ciara Blundell finding the back of the net. Blundell was a thorn in the side of the Laois defence, hitting 1-03 in the opening half.

Laois fought back in the second half with Aileen O’Loughlin and substitute Clare Conlon taking the scoring plaudits hitting seven points between them. Westmeath kept the scoreboard ticking over, Kelly Boyce Jordan finding the back of the net on 45 mins which was key to stopping the Laois wave of attacks. Archibold was kept busy in the second half and she contributed 0-08 to her side’s total tally of 2-17 over the course of the hour. To their credit, Laois never gave up and were rewarded for their efforts on the stroke of full time as Meghan Dunne rifled to the back of Karen Walsh’s net. However, it was too little too late and Westmeath can look forward to a trip to Parnell Park in two weeks.

Westmeath; Karen Walsh, Rachel Dillon, Amie Giles, Aileen Martin, Fiona Coyle, Rebecca Dunne, Laura Brennan, Karen McDermott, Maud Annie Foley (0-03), Fiona Claffey (0-01), Leona Archibald (0-08, 7 frees), Kelly Boyce Jordan (1-00), Tracey Dillon, Laura-Lee Walsh (0-01, Capt.), Ciara Blundell (1-03).
Subs: Lucy McCarton (0-01) for Dillon (7 mins), Chloe Kelly for Coyle (56 mins), Johanna Maher for Jordan (57 mins), Margeurite O’Connor for Claffey (58 mins).

Laois: Ciamh Dollard, Amy Potts, Jenny McEvoy, Laura Nerney, Aine Haberlin, Aileen O’Loughlin (0-03), Anna Healy, Eva Galvin, Joyce Dunne, Erone Fitzpatrick, Mo Nerney, Caoimhe Simms, Rachel Williams, Ciara Burke, Emma Lawlor (0-02, 1 free).
Subs: Clare Conlon (0-04) for Lawlor (HT), Meaghan Dunne (1-00) for Burke (HT), Martha Kirwan for Williams (HT), Mags McEvoy for Simms (37 mins), Alison McEvoy (0-01) for Healy (45 mins).


Referee: Colm McManus (Meath)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs