Wexford overcome Leitrim in Division 2

Wexford overcome Leitrim
in Division 2



Wexford overcome Leitrim

Wexford played a stormer last Sunday in Bunclody when they gave an excellent display of football in the Division 2 Bord Gáis National League game against Leitrim.
Wexford played with the breeze in the first half but it was Leitrim who made the best start and after twenty minutes were leading 1-3 to 0-4. It was at this stage that Wexford upped the pace and from then until the half time whistle they scored 1-6 while they kept Leitrim scoreless, the goal coming four minutes before the break when Leona Tector sent in a fine ball to Natasha Martin and she made no mistake in rattling the net.
Wexford didn’t relent in the second half and took the game to Leitrim, though Leitrim were given a life line in the fourth minute when they were awarded a penalty, which was duly converted by Evie Guckian. Wexford continued to kick their points and Leona Tector had scored their second goal in the fourteenth minute. With ten minutes to go Wexford started using their bench and brought on six subs. Leitrim scored a goal and two points in the final few minutes while Wexfords Sara Nolan scored a screamer into the bottom right hand corner to leave the score 3-17 to 3-6.

Wexfords next game is away to Sligo next Sunday in the next round of the Bord Gáis Energy league.

Wexford: Mary Rose Kelly St Fintans, Ciara Cosgrave Ballygarrett, Mary O’Neill Clonee (Captain), Aoife Waters St Martins, Julie Kelly St Fintans, Shelly Doyle Shelmalier, Orla Donohue Bunclody, Fiona Kavanagh Bunclody, Fiona Rochford St Annes 0-1, Emma Hore Kilmore, Linda Casey Clongeen 0-1, Sharon Kehoe Kilmore 0-2, Tara Maloney Shelmalier 0-4, Leona Tector Shelmalier 1-4, Natasha Martin Geraldine O’Hanrahans 1-2. Subs: Lisa Goff Kilmore 0-3 for Emma Hore, Laura Corrigan Shelmalier for Orla Donohue, Sara Nolan Starlights 1-0 for Sharon Kehoe, Clare Finn Bunclody for Natasha Martin, Sinéad McCarthy Geraldine O’Hanrahans for Aoife Waters, Jane Mythen Starlights for Julie Kelly, Naomi Fogarty Kilmore for Leona Tector, Ceara O’Brien Shelmalier for Ciara Cosgrave, Lisa Quill Shelmalier, Diane Kelly Adamstown, Amy Ryan St Martins, Fiona Cullen Shelmalier, Eimear O’Brien St Martins and Deirdre Fox Shelmalier.

Leitrim: Louise Loughlin, Carla Creegan, Sinéad Brennan, Mairéad McAwley, Theresa Myolette, Anna Conlon, Camilla McDonagh, Sarah McLoughlin, Deirdre McDermott, Sarah McManin 0-1, Lorraine Brennan, Clare Owen, Evie Guckian 2-1, Naomi Lee 0-2, Aoife Kelly 0-2. Sub: Aoife McWeeney 1-0
Referee: Michael O’Keeffe (Cork)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs