2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Wexford U-16 girls claim Leinster Title

Wexford U-16 Girls Claim Leinster Title


Wexford travelled to County Laois last Saturday to the picturesque
town of Stradbally to play Longford in the U-16 Leinster B Championship
Final, and came away with the honours on a score line of 3-9 to
1-11. Longford were indeed a step up in class for Wexford from
the three previous games, which they had won rather easily, and
for periods of this game the winner could have come from either
camp. Wexford played with the slight breeze in the first half
and started off very well with Karen Tomkins getting the first
point after two minutes. This was followed up three minutes later
with a Sonja Murphy point after good play from the Ballygarrett
trio of Roisín Murphy, Sandra Lawlor and Karen Tomkins. A minute
later Longford’s full forward, Fiona Fox, got one to one with
Terri Byrne in Wexfords goal, but Terri saved well and cleared
her lines. A couple of minutes later Wexford had a goal when a
long ball in from Roisín Murphy fell to Sonja Murphy and she nicely
tucked it away.

Longford at this stage were starting to settle more and a minute
later Terri Byrne came to Wexford’s aid again with another save
to concede a 45 after been left one on one with a Longford player.
After seventeen minutes Longford got their first score when wing
forward Anna McDonald had her goal bound shot saved by Terri Byrne
but midfielder Orlaith Doherty followed in and sent the lose ball
to the net. Wexford responded immediately with points from Sandra
Lawlor and Aoife Tormey. At this Stage Wexford introduced Katie
Redmond, who missed last week’s game due to illness, for Goreys
Emma Doyle. Longford were now on top and scored the next six points
between the 21st and 28th minutes to go two points ahead. Wexford
responded with a goal from Aoife Dunne after good play from Sandra
Lawlor and Miriam Smith and just on the half time Longford’s Sinéad
Farrell levelled things up with a point to leave the score at
2-4 to 1-7.

Wexford were now against the breeze and a slight incline and knew
they had to take the game to Longford if they wanted to win the
day, and this is how they started the second half. Aoife Tormey
was unlucky not to get a goal in the first minute when Orlaith
Doherty excellently blocked her goal bound shot. This didn’t down
heart them in any way and over the next couple of minutes Karen
Tomkins put over two points. This was added to in the seventh
minute when Katie Redmond caught a high ball on her own 20m line
and from a string of excellent passes up the field Wexford were
awarded a 20m free. Aoife Dunne went to take it and while everyone
expected her to tap it over she rifled it into the top right hand
corner for a goal. The Wexford mentors then made a couple of substitutions,
bringing on Tanya O’Brien and Mairéad Sheehan. Roisín Murphy scored
the next point before a good run from Amy Ryan out of defence
ended with Sandra Lawlor’s second point. In the seventeenth minute
Wexford had their last score of the game when sub Mairéad Sheehan
scored a good point. This put Wexford eight points ahead and though
they conceded four points to Longford over the rest of the game,
and had some scary moments, their defence held firm and Wexford
ran out winners on a score line of 3-9 to 1-11.

Even though Wexford won the day, the management team of Brian
O’Brien, Geraldine Lawlor and Annette Cushe will be concerned
with some aspects of this game though they have four weeks to
iron them out before they play in the All-Ireland quarterfinal.
Wexford’s best performers on the day were Terri Byrne, Georgina
Hearn, Tara Whitty, Karen Tomkins Aoife Dunne and player of the
match Sandra Lawlor, who was presented with the award after the
match. Best for Longford were Sinéad Farrell, Mairéad Moore, Orlaith
Doherty, Michelle Linnaine and Aisling O’Hara. Wexford’s captain
Amy Ryan was presented with the cup from Leinster Chairperson
Bill Daly.

Wexford: Terri Byrne Bunclody, Emma Doyle Gorey, Amy Ryan (Capt)
St Martins, Georgina Hearne Horeswood, Natalie Cushe Kilanerin,
Aoife Fitzpatrick Kilmore, Tara Whitty Taghmon/Camross, Sandra
Lawlor Ballygarrett 0-2, Roisín Murphy Ballygarrett 0-1, Karen
Tomkins Ballygarrett 0-3, Miriam Smith Clonee, Maeve Kehoe St
James, Sonja Murphy St James1-1, Aoife Dunne Taghmon/Camross 2-0,
Aoife Tormey Clonard 0-1. Subs; Katie Redmond Crossabeg/Ballymurn
for Emma Doyle, Tanya O’Brien St Fintans for Aoife Tormey, Mairéad
Sheehan Clonee 0-1 for Miriam Smith, Claire Doyle Gorey for Maeve
Kehoe, Caroline Curran Shelmaliers, Grace Cardiff Kilmore, Robin
Brennan Clonard, Emer Dunne Taghmon/Camross, Bríd Kehoe St James,
Bríd Breen Horeswood, Elaine Parker Crossabeg/Ballymurn, Orlagh
Hall Gorey, Ciara Codd Kilmore, Ciara Doyle Gorey and Niamh Quirke

Longford: Emma Darcy, Naomi Lynn, Oonagh Shanley, Deirdre Monaghan,
Sinéad Farrell, Mairéad Moore, Louise Battrim, Jainata Brady,
Orlaith Doherty, Sharon Rabbitt, Michelle Linnaine, Anna McDonald,
Aisling O’Hara, Fiona Fox, Karen Gill. Subs; Leah Farrell for
Michelle Linnaine, Kerrie Donnolly, Áine Connerton, Olivia Denning,
Edel Mooney, Charlene Murtagh, Noleen Brady, Bronagh Fox, Siobhán
Soranah, Patricia Hourigan, Rosita McNerney and Avril Gilcrest.


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs