Wexford V Tipperary IFC Report


Wexford v Tipperary TG4 All-Ireland Ladies IFC semi-final


By Daragh Ó Conchúir

Wexford 2-15

Tipperary 2-12

Wexford survived missing two second half penalties plus a host of other chances to deny Tipperary at Kingspan Breffni Park on Saturday and book a place in the TG4 All-Ireland IFC final.

Caroline Murphy might have been the villain of the piece for the Model County having failed to register a score from either of those spot kicks but in the end it was the Clonee star’s two goals and three points that proved the difference between the sides in this Cavan cracker.

Tipperary began impressively with Mairéad Morrissey notching up 1-1 from their first two attacks but Wexford recovered well to lead at the break by a point, 1-8 to 1-7.

Murphy had the simple task of hitting the net from close range after some excellent approach play by dynamic wing-forwards Michelle Hearne and Liz Evered. Deirdre Fox and Murphy added three points each but the deadly accurate Edel Hanley kept Tipperary in contention with four of her own.

The second half began in whirlwind fashion, Shelagh Carew blasting Tipperary in front with a goal from the opening attack. Wexford’s response was instant though and after Evered pointed, Murphy bagged her second major following Hearne’s assist.

Murphy had the opportunity to seal the issue for Wexford but Patricia Hickey spectacularly clawed away the shot destined for the top left hand corner.

The Brian Ború’s custodian was sin-binned when conceding her second penalty with 10 minutes remaining but Murphy’s low shot skidded inches wide of the upright.

An Ann O’Dwyer point had brought Tipperary level but Brendan Dardis’ side dominated the final quarter and with Fox in unerring form from frees and Josie Dywer and influential sub Kate Kelly also on target, they managed to pull away in the end for a deserved victory.

Wexford: MR Kelly; M Quill, M Murray, A Waters; M Kelly, L Toctor, S Doyle; C Scallan, D Fox 0-6 (5fs); L Evered 0-1, J Dwyer 0-3, M Hearne 0-1; T Moloney, C Murphy 2-3, S Kehoe. Subs: K Kelly 0-1 for Evered (38); B Curran for Scallan (58).

Tipperary: P Hickey; N Ferris, M Corcoran, C Lambert; Ann O’Dwyer 0-1, Aoife O’Dwyer, C Carroll 0-1; A McDermott, T McManus; S Costelloe, M Morrissey 1-2, J Grant 0-1; S Carew 1-0, G O’Brien 0-1, E Hanley 0-6 (5fs). Subs: J O’Doherty (17) for Ferris (44); H Kennedy for Grant (49).

Referee: M Foy (Monaghan)


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs