2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Wicklow campaign off to good start


Wicklow’s campaign off to the best possible
start Wicklow 4-11 Westmeath 1-8

Wicklow ladies football team got their 2005 Suzuki
National league division 4 campaign off to an
excellent start with a comprehensive victory on
Sunday at Stratford-on-Slaney.

While the final score may flatter the Garden County
slightly, it is fair to say that this was one
of the best Wicklow performances seen in recent
years. Their first half performance was spectacular;
as well as racking up an impressive 3-9 they kept
Westmeath scoreless, and save for a few early
attacks the midlanders were penned in their own
half for the entire period. In the first fifteen
minutes Wicklow stamped their authority on the
game with 1-2, while also hitting six wides. But
their wayward shooting did not distract them and
the scores began to flow.

Edel Kennedy and Nadina Murphy made impressive
debuts, linking well with the other forwards in
a surprisingly fluid performance. Pick of the
scores was Wicklow’s second goal, midway through
the half. Eithne Byrne’s long ball dropped into
the penalty box where Leah Horn was waiting surrounded
by defenders. Instead of attempting the catch
she tapped the ball down to Elaine Murphy and
the net was soon rippling. The second half was
a much tighter affair, understandably so as Westmeath
upped their game to salvage some pride and Wicklow
took the foot off the pedal slightly. Westmeath
scored a series of unanswered points (with corner
forward Laura Halligan in particularly good form)
and an unlikely comeback seemed possible. But
Wicklow sorted things out in the middle of the
field and began to get back on top.

Victory was assured with Emer Miley’s emphatic
penalty and thereafter they cruised home. An impressive
performance and satisfying victory bodes well
for Wicklow’s fortunes in 2005.

Wicklow: Emer Miley (Blessington) (1-0) Mary Whelan
(Blessington) Orla Donaghue (Kilbride) Aoife Heffernan
(Bray Emmets) Lisa Brady (Bray Emmets) Eithne
Byrne (Kilcoole) Nikki Donaghue (Kilbride) Aisling
O’hAnnaidh (Bray Emmets) (0-2) Deirdre O’Riordain
(Kilbride) (0-1) Jessica Carroll (Blessington)
(0-2) Edel Kennedy (Carnew Emmets) (0-3) Nadina
Murphy (Blessington) (1-2) Leah Horan (Eire Og)
(1-0) Elaine Murphy (Blessington) (1-1) Chrissie
Shortt (An Tochar) Liz Cullen (Clara) Jean Duffy
(Kilbride) Debbie Green (Valleymount) Tracey Doyle



Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs