2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Wicklow Ladies U16 Championship Final

Wicklow Ladies U16 Championship Final

Arklow Geraldines Ballymoney 8-19 An Tochar 2-2

AGB ladies romped to a 35 points victory over An Tochar in the championship final played in Newtown on Wednesday 3rd December under lights. AGB were the red hot favourites and were too athletic and mobile for their opponents and eased their way to a comfortable win.

The competition, that was played this year on an 11-a-side basis into juvenile goals, demonstrated the gap that has developed between this strong AGB team and the rest of their opponents in Wicklow. Arklow had dismissed Coolkenno in the quarter final 10-7 to 1-2 and their semi-final opponents Tinahely were unable to field a team.

In the final itself AGB started very strongly with Claire Kavanagh and Shauna Fleming dominating the middle of the pitch and the An Tochar defence was continually under pressure. Despite this after 8 minutes Arklow had only managed to score 1 point principally due to a number of outstanding saves by the An Tochar goalkeeper Hayley O’Dea. However once the Arklow forwards found their range the scores began to flow. At half time Arklow led by 5-14 to1-0.

The Arklow team were never in a position to ease up as the numerous substitutes introduced in the second half set about creating an impact. In particular Katie Kindlon and Aine O’Reilly both scored a goal and were very impressive. Erinne Murphy was outstanding in corner forward and contributed 4 well taken points. Arklow also got excellent performances from Calvin Swart and Michelle Forde. Ark low’s other scorers were Sam Kelly and Niamh Arthur who got 1 point each. However the scorers in chief were the inside forwards Kayleigh Crammond who achieved 4-3 and Aife Kavanagh who bagged 2-10.

Other notable performers on the night were Hannah Tew and Nicole Kavanagh in the backs and Keelin Riley and Jessie McElheron in the forwards.

An Tochar continued to battle and tried hard to the final whistle, never letting their heads drop and playing football for the full duration of the match. In particular Sarah Miley and Jennifer O’Gorman fought to the end and were assisted by cousins Laura and Sarah Kavanagh with Sarah Fleming and Yvonne Sutton also catching the eye.

The final score was 8-19 to 2-2.

Seamus Ahearne refereed the game and on behalf of the county board he presented the trophy to the winning captain Claire Kavanagh. He complimented the Arklow team on the quality of football played and the sportsmanship displayed throughout the year as shown by the players, mentors and supporters. Claire Kavanagh thanked her mentors and all her team colleagues for their wonderful attendances at training and their commitment to football.

The teams that played were:

AGB: Amy Devereux, Hannah Tew, Nicole Kavanagh, Claire Kavanagh, Shauna Fleming, Sam Kelly, Niamh Arthur, Jessie McElheron, Keelin riley, Aife Kavanagh, Kayleigh Crammond, Rebecca Condren, Melissa Keane, Katie Kindlon, Aine O’Reilly, Calvin Swart, Erinne Murphy, Michelle Forde, Dannie Brauders, Naomi Roche.

An Tochar: Hayley O’Dea, Katie Payne, Jennifer O’Gorman, Laura Kavanagh, Naomi O’Loughlin, Sarah Kavanagh, Sarah Miley, Yvonne Sutton, Catherine Molloy, Sarah Fleming, Jill Cowman.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs