Wrap: 14 titles handed out at memorable 2018 John West Féile na nÓg

By Cóilín Duffy

TEAMS from 11 different counties, in three of the four provinces, and also Britain were celebrating after 14 Girls Football finals at the John West All-Ireland Under 14 Féile Peil na nÓg, jointly hosted by Louth, Meath and Down at the weekend.

Cork side Éire Óg claimed the Division 1 Cup title in their first ever final at an All-Ireland Feile, with teams from Limerick, Meath, Kildare, Westmeath, Carlow, Armagh, Antrim, Derry, Fermanagh, Cavan and London also claimed All-Ireland honours.

Despite scoring just one point in the second half Éire Óg emerged 2-2 to 0-5 winners over Westport of Mayo.

A wind assisted Éire Óg motored well in the first half, and led by 2-1 to 0-2 at the break, with Niamh O’Shea and Grainne O’Mahony netting their goals, while Edel Sheehan registered a point.

Two Rowena Kelly scores kept Westport in touch, and on the restart they burst into life.

Aoife Staunton (0-2) and Sarah Mulroy (0-1) added to their tally, but Éire Óg took the title, with Sadbh McGoldrick scoring their lone second half score on the way to a three-point win.

After the game Éire Óg captain Sadbh McGoldrick accepted the Cup from LGFA President Marie Hickey.

Walterstown took the Shield title in an all-Meath final, emerging 1-8 to 1-2 over Seneschalstown.

Walterstown led by 0-5 to 0-2 at half-time, with Eimear Farrelly netting their only goal in the second half, on the way to a six-point win.

Sarah-Jane Lyons (0-6), Elsa Mullen and Katie McCarn (0-1 each) were also on target for the eventual winners, who were captained by Aisling Kelly.

It was third time lucky for Kilcullen (pictured below) as they captured Division 2 Cup silverware.

It was third time lucky for Kilcullen as they captured Division 2 Cup silverware.

The Kildare side lost to Killygarry of Cavan in the final in Kerry two years ago, and had a semi-final defeat to eventual winners Kilkenny City last year; but made ameds with a 4-3 to 0-6 win over New York.

New York opened the scoring with a point, amazingly the only time that Kilcullen fell behind in any of their games over the weekend.

Goals helped turn the game in their favour, with two from full-forward Roisin Cahill, while Sophie Ngai also found the net, on the way to a 3-3 to 0-3 interval lead. Ngai adding two points, with Edwina Burchall also on target.

A serious injury to a New York player delayed the game for 20 minutes, and although Kilcullen struggled for scores, Ngai added her second goal on the way to a nine-point win in front of a large travelling Kilcullen support, with hosts St Patrick’s Lordship also giving a strong backing to their visitors in the knock-out stages.

After the game, Kilcullen captain Sophie Ngai recevied the cup from former LGFA President Pat Quill.

Derrynoose became the first Armagh side to win at an All-Ireland Feile, leading throughout in the Shield final, with a 2-4 to 0-2 win over Cooley Kickhams of Louth in Ashbourne.

Derrynoose led from the opening seconds, when Aideen Farrell netted their opening goal straight from the throw-in.

With top-scorer Maeve Lennon (0-4) adding two points before the break, Derrynoose took a 1-2 to 0-0 interval lead.

Cooley worked hard and were unlucky that it wasn’t their day in front of the posts, missing five first half frees.

However, their accuracy improved on the restart, with points from Dayna Ferguson and Ciara Murphy.

But Natasha McShane added Derrynoose’s second goal, as joint captains Maeve Lennon and Aideen Farrell accepted the Shield.

St Ergnats from Moneyglass (pictured below) in Antrim were crowned Division 3 Cup winners, after a hard earned 1-7 to 1-5 win over Carrickmore St Colmcilles from Tyrone.
Trim took the Shield title in an all-Meath decider against a young Blackhall Gaels outfit, with a 7-5 to 0-4 win in Monasterboice.
Goals from Nora Jean Lenihan, Millie McQuaid and Emma O’Neill saw Trim lead by 4-3 to 0-1 at half-time.
Lenihan completed her hat-trick in the second half, with Kate Holden and Orlagh Murphy also netting, as captain Abbey Moyles accepted the Shield after the game.
In Division 4, O’Donovan Rossa, Magherafelt claimed a rare Girls All-Ireland Feile title for Derry, with a comfortable 1-7 to 0-2 win over St. Brigids Gaels from Ardagh in Longford.
In the Shield decider, 11 years after winning the Division 4 Cup title, Kinawley Brian Borus of Fermanagh were back to winning ways at an All-Ireland Feile, claiming a slender 3-6 to 3-5 win over Westmanstown Gaels from Dublin at Páirc Tailteann.
Westmanstown Gaels led by 2-3 to 1-1 at half-time, and in a tight second half, Kinawley shaded it by the minimum at the end, despite the best efforts of captain Zeta Hemeryck (3-2), Katie Murphy, Emma Lyons and Lia Cronin (0-1 each) for the Gaels.
In Division 5, Milltownpass looked good throughout to take Cup success.
The Westmeath club led throughout on their way to a 1-5 to 0-2 win over Moycarkey-Borris of Tipperary.
Milltownpass led by 1-3 to 0-0 at half-time, before the sides equally shared four points on the restart.
Ballyhaise edged a tight encounter with St Ultans to claim the Shield.
The Cavan outfit claiming a 2-3 to 2-2 win over their Meath counterparts.
Goals were key in the Division 6 Cup final, as Knockainey took the title.
The Limerick outfit claimed a 3-8 to 0-3 win over Pádraig Sáirsáil of Antrim in the final.
There was a familiar look about the Shield decider, with London facing their hosts Ballymartin in the final, and the English capital coming out on top by 3-3 to 1-5.
St Mary’s Donore and Dunsany played the third all-Meath final at Feile, with the former taking a 1-3 to 1-2 win and earning the Division 7 Cup.
In the Shield final, goals were key, with St Brigids Clonmore leading to 2-0 to 0-1 at the break, before the Carlow side were 2-2 to 0-2 winners over a Delco Gaels side from Philadelphia contesting their first ever Feile.
Delco’s points were scored by Alanna McBrearty and co-Captain Tiernagh Moore.
Kate Ryan and captain Lauren McGrath registered a goal each for the winners.
Division 1 Cup: Éire Óg (Cork) 2-2 Westport (Mayo) 0-5
Division 1 Shield: Walterstown (Meath) 1-8 Seneschalstown (Meath) 1-2
Division 2 Cup: Kilcullen (Kildare) 4-3 New York 0-6
Division 2 Shield: Derrynoose (Armagh) 2-4 Cooley Kickhams (Louth) 0-2
Division 3 Cup: St. Ergnats Moneyglass (Antrim) 1-7 Carrickmore St Colmcilles (Tyrone) 1-5
Division 3 Shield: Trim (Meath) 7-5 Blackhall Gaels (Meath) 0-4
Division 4 Cup: O’Donovan Rossa, Magherafelt (Derry) 1-7 St Brigids Gaels (Longford) 0-2
Division 4 Shield: Kinawley Brian Borus (Fermanagh) 3-6 Westmanstown Gaels (Dublin) 3-5
Division 5 Cup: Milltownpass (Westmeath) 1-5 Moycarkey-Borris (Tipperary) 0-2
Division 5 Shield: Ballyhaise (Cavan) 2-3 St Ultans (Meath) 2-2
Division 6 Cup: Knockainey (Limerick) 3-8 Pádraig Sáirsáil (Antrim) 0-3
Division 6 Shield: London 3-3 Ballymartin (Down) 1-5
Division 7 Cup: St Mary’s Donore (Meath) 1-3 Dunsany (Meath) 1-2
Division 7 Shield: St Brigids Clonmore (Carlow) 2-2 Delco Gaels (Philadelphia) 0-2
Cuirtear fáilte roimh chomhfhreagras i nGaeilge i gcónaí

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs